new and new-to-me music

Last week I was able to see a few bands play at The Parish but am just now finding the time to write about them. My friend Stephen initially bought the tickets because of the opener, a band called: You Won’t. We usually buy two tickets to any given show and are each other’s plus one, should his wife for him or Lindsey for me not be able to make it. Of course there are times that there is someone else that may care an awful lot about a particular band and they get to go in that case. We trade tickets back and forth this way and the non-purchaser gets the drinks.

The Parish is one of my favorite spots for live music in downtown Austin. I appreciate the acoustics and intimacy it provides. Depending on the time of year, it is one of the few places that I will attend indoor shows in Austin.

You Won’t put on an incredibly entertaining show. I do not mean to say they had lights, smoke, or dancers; the two-peice were themselves engaging. One audience member near me referred to the lead singer as a magician while I feel he was more of a comedian. Comparisons aside, the music itself was also good. They used a variety of instruments, including a saw and demonstrated a wide vocal range as well.

The main act last Wednesday was Lucius. While I described the opener as entertaining, I feel Lucius was energetic. At one point, there were eight drumsticks hammering out beats. I am known to be a sucker for a front woman, Lucius’ two front women proved no different. Their personalities mixed with their musical talent definitely make them a band to watch this year. As an encore, they increased the intimacy by playing a couple acoustic pieces from the middle of the crowd. Here is a video from that wonderful moment that was forwarded to me. 

Incidentally, Lucius knows a friend of mine Caleb Hawley from Berklee College of Music. Caleb just released the first part of a new album; I believe Lucius helped had something to do with its production. Side 1 illuminates Caleb’s musical genius and soul. 

Leave a Reply

