abgb

For the past couple of weeks, I have wanted to try out the new Austin Beer Garden Brewery. It was first brought to my attention by a Thrillist Austin post. Interest piqued, I finally found the time to go last night.

My first impression of the place was that it was bigger than I had expected. The ABGB is located just on the other side of the tracks (literally only, not figuratively) from Lamar on Oltorf. Parking was not a problem and the place was pretty hopping. Numerous cable spindle tables and lawn chairs sit nicely in a string lit outdoor space. Inside features ample seating at long bench-seating tables or up at the bar.

photo-9

Since I wanted to try as many beers as fiscally possible, I ordered a flight.  Usually, these means 4 different beers, but at ABGB it equals 5.  I was able to check the beers I wanted from a list, which featured brief descriptions of the beers. Pints were a little over $4 and the flight runs close to $6.50.  The ABGB offers Always and Sometimes beers on draught. As one might expect, the Always are always available and the Sometimes come and go. Last night, I chose Hell Yes Helles & Industry Pils from the Always section and Gretchen’s Brown Ale, Feild Trip Bego Pale Ale, & Muscles from Brussels Belgo IPA from the Sometimes. The Industry and Muscles from Brussels were my favorites.

Though I didn’t last night, next time I loo forward to trying out some of the menu. Apps, salads, sandwiches and pizza (even by the slice) make up what is surely a delicious endeavor. The ABGB even offers a version of a combo – great fro sharing with friends, featuring a pizza, salad, and a pitcher of beer.

Additionally, I’m excited about the local nature of this establishment, proudly in association with: Johnson’s Backyard Garden – Antonelli’s Cheese Shop – Salt & Time – Pure Luck Farm & Dairy – Easy Tiger Bake Shop

If you haven’t tried out the ABGB I hope you plan to soon. The Austin Beer Guide is another valuable resource, including 3 podcasts from ABGB. You can also try the beers I enjoyed last night tomorrow afternoon at the Texas Craft Brewers Festival.

Leave a Reply

