trend eating.03

Eggplant parmesan meets chicken mozzarella meets pepperoni pizza!!

After successfully preparing this meal for Lindsey, my parents in Hot Springs Village requested it as well. Since then, I have passed on the recipe to close to a dozen other people. With that much word-of-mouth interest I thought it was fine time to post on the blog.

Lindsey found the recipe at Paleo Pot and asked me to prepare it while she was at work. Since it was a crock-pot dish, I saw no harm in taking a little time away from my writing, etc. to throw it all in the pot. We had purchased everything we needed for the dish and I was ready to get cooking. *When choosing an eggplant, pick one that is firm and heavy for its size. I will list (re-list) the recipe even though it was initially on Paleo Pot but make some changes I found to be helpful, while also giving Jason his due credit. Note: the eggplant will take some prep time: 60 minutes soaking in water & 30 minutes drying; prior to placing in crockpot.

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium eggplant (about 1.5 pounds), sliced about 1/4 thick, soaked and dried.
  • 1 pound of thinly sliced chicken breast, pounded flat with a meat mallet.
  • 3 cups of crushed tomatoes or tomato sauce.
  • 1 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil.
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced.
  • 1 tbsp of Italian seasoning.
  • 1/2 pound of thinly sliced pepperoni.
  • 1 cup of black olives, sliced.
  • 1/2 cup to a cup of Parmesan cheese, grated.
  • 1/2 cup to a cup of Mozzarella cheese, grated.
  • sea salt as needed.
  • Italian parsley for garnish.

Directions:

  • Wash – slice – soak eggplant for 60 Minutes
  • Strain eggplant – sprinkle with sea salt – allow to dry for 30 minutes in between paper towels. While they dried, I prepared other ingredients.
  • Add olive oil and tomato sauce to pot… enough to coat the bottom.
  • Tenderize your chicken with a mallet – I massaged mine – ideally similar thickness to the eggplant.
  • **Add in your garlic and a dash of the seasoning. (** = This is not mentioned in the Paleo Pot version.)
  • Layer in other ingredients: (on top of sauce already in the pot) eggplant – parmesan – chicken – sauce – mozzarella – olives – pepperoni – more cheese **I used a little of both cheeses where it asks for “more cheese”.
  • **Sprinkle in some Italian seasonings every now and then.
  • Repeat until the ingredients are used up.
  • **Cook on low for 5 hours (I preferred this to the high for 3 hours)
  • Once finished, remove ceramic crock – set aside with lid cracked – let cool.
  • Remove with a pair of spatulas.

I wish I was blogging about this immediately after cooking it so I could have included my own pictures but Jason’s post on Paleo Pot has some good ones. Special thanks to him for blogging about this in June, so that I could enjoy it this summer; now you can enjoy it too.

Leave a Reply

