something serious

…instead of taking off into my world of make-believe.

Last night I attended a memorial service, A Celebration of Life, for Murray Hanson. I coached at Lonestar Soccer Club here in south Austin with Murray. Though our interactions were limited, his presence had a positive effect on me. Murray coached players to their best, especially beyond what they thought they were capable of achieving. We were similar in this way; also shared a passion for coaching and a love of Austin, for running and music. He was only 49 years old. I do not want to rewrite an obituary here but will pass on something the pastor read at the service. Due to copyright, I have been reduced to simply posting this link.

http://lindaellis.net/the-dash-poem-by-linda-ellis/

Beyond sharing it, I would like to encourage you to live a better “dash.” I would like to think that mine will be replaced by exclamation points.

AND let the people in your life KNOW that you love and appreciate them.

Leave a Reply

