trend eating.02

trend eating.02

I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve eaten brussel sprouts. One of my new favorite places to eat, drink and be merry is Salty Sow (stop reading and go there now if you can). They serve a side that includes brussel sprouts (perfectly crispy), golden raisins and pecorino. The delicious dish inspired me to give them a go on my own. Since I had been trying the Paleo thing, I decided to start there and found this:

Mark’s Daily Apple

For good measure, I researched a little more till I found one including the golden raisins:

BON APPÉTIT

Using these as my guides, I jumped on my bike and headed to Whole Foods. Of course, quantities will vary based on your needs but I used the following:

1- 1.5 lb Brussel Sprouts (Trimmed, Quartered)

6* slices of Bacon

1 Medium Shallot, finely chopped

1 Tablespoon lemon juice, freshly squeezed

2 Tablespoons unsalted butter

1/3 cup Golden Raisins

Begin with the bacon (must use self-control when you have ready-to-eat bacon nearby while you cook the rest of the meal; I fried an extra piece* or two because I knew I would fall short)

Set the crispy bacon aside and throw the finely chopped shallots into the bacon-greased skillet.

With the stove on a low – medium heat, carefully place the quartered brussel sprouts onto the skillet to let one of the flat open faces brown.

While they cook, break your bacon up (eat one of the extra pieces*) into small pieces.

With one side browned, turn your sprouts over onto the other flat surface and let them simmer for just a minute. Remove these sprouts and place them in a separate bowl.

If you have more sprouts to cook: Use the rest of your shallots; place the rest of the sprouts.

In a separate pot, brown the butter. Add the browned butter to the lemon juice and mix with a pinch of salt.

Once second batch is finished, place all brussel sprouts in the pot used to brown the butter. Add raisins, bacon, salt & pepper, and the lemon/butter vinaigrette. Simmering for a minute or two will allow the new ingredients to cook into the mix.

photo-4

I served this with pan-fried pork chops. (To prep: place thin, center-cut chops in Ziploc filled with almond flour, garlic salt and seasoning salt)

One thought on “trend eating.02

  1. I used turkey bacon and onions instead of shallots. Also garlic salt. Grilled instead of stove top. But great guide for me. Thanks JD. It’s Michael from WF…..

Leave a Reply

