Special Edition: Thanksgiving

Family, friends, food and football. Although, this year I was able to enjoy more food than football and more friends than family, I found this Thanksgiving to be one of my best ever. My Thanksgiving began with Lindsey on the Sunday prior to Thanksgiving. We made quite the Paleo feast. For those that don’t know: Paleo is essentially eating like the cavemen; lots of meat and vegetables and no dairy or grain or refined foods.

Sunday morning, I whipped up some Paleo Pumpkin Pancakes. http://www.runningtothekitchen.com/2012/10/pumpkin-paleo-pancakes-that-actually-taste-good/

I’ll admit that I was nervous making non-traditional pancakes and to add to it was doing a pumpkin version. Ambitious, as my friend Haley called it. They turned out to be delicious. We sided them with bacon and topped them with Canadian maple syrup.

After breakfast, we put a turkey breast into the Crockpot. http://www.food.com/recipe/simple-crock-pot-turkey-breast-279220

Lindsey chose this method for a number of reasons: 1) it would just be the two of us 2) she LOVES her Crockpot 3 & most importantly) “[she] would most likely F up a turkey in the oven.” – her words not mine J

This would take some time but it was nice to be able to let it alone to cook while we enjoyed our day. Crockpot’s are nice that way; I imagine this one in particular gets quite a bit of play for that very reason.

http://paleomg.com/paleo-thanksgiving-stuffing

The stuffing was clear evidence that is one of the better Paleo food blogs.  It could have even served as meal on its own. Helping me with the leftovers, ne of my roommates, Jeff, even placed it on a turkey sandwich.

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Honey-Glazed-Roasted-Carrots-and-Parsnips-233404

My first time to eat parsnips, but definitely not my last. My only regret here is that we didn’t make more of them.

And finally…  http://www.primal-palate.com/2010/11/bills-chiffon-pumpkin-pie.html

I continued to eat leftovers from this meal up until Thursday, actual Thanksgiving. I spent that day with my sister Jessica and her family. We fried that turkey and I was able to devour some traditional stuffing and pumpkin pie. In comparison, the Paleo feast won out.

Leave a Reply

